NBA Shot Chart: Miami Heat Leading Shooters, 1996-2021

Reading Time: 3 minutes

With 3 titles in 2006, 2012, and 2013, and one of the most dangerous superteams ever, the Miami Heat have been a franchise worth watching. Check out the leading scorers by zone in the 25 years, as well as the leading scorers in each of the championship seasons.

Most field goals made by zone, 1996-2021

I feel like every Heat fan should always drink to Dwyane Wade. He’s the team’s all-time leading scorer by far. As expected, he’s the leading scorer in 6 of the 11 zones below. Eddie Jones leads two 3-point zones, Tim Hardaway and Mario Chalmers lead one 3-point zone each. Haslem leads the team from the top of the key.

Most field goals made in a single season by zone, 1996-2021

What stands out here? No LeBron James! Duncan Robinson has been the 3-pointer the Heat never had over the past two years. Wade, Haslem, Bosh, and Battier are all players who won a ring with the Heat. Alonzo Mourning was a nightmare for me growing up as a Knicks fan. Eddie Jones was a great addition to the chart and his 2004 season record in the left corner still stands. Last but not least, Shaq was UNSTOPPABLE in the paint in 2005 and still holds the record.

Most field goals made by zone in 2005-06 Heat Championship team

The Heat won their first title in 2006 and it was an impressive one! Dwyane Wade and Udonis Haslem were awesome from inside the arc. What was really awesome was that the other three players that made the chart, Gary Payton, James Posey, Antoine Walker, and Jason Williams, were all brought in the summer of 2005.

Most field goals made by zone in 2011-12 Heat Championship team

Mario Chalmers and Shane Battier took over the 3-point duties in the 2012 Heat championship team. It was really up to LeBron, Bosh, and Wade though to win the ring. It’s interesting that Wade is not on the shot chart, despite averaging 22.1 points per game. He came in second in so many different zones.

Most field goals made by zone in 2012-13 Heat Championship team

The Heat won back-to-back championships in 2013. LeBron stepped up from beyond the arc. Moreover, Mario Chalmers and Shane Battier had the pleasant company of Ray Allen who contributed the most clutch shots ever. LeBron and Bosh again were the main go-to guys from inside the arc. As for Wade, he again came in second in so many zones. Kind of shows how dangerous the Heat were with their options.

One comment

Leave a Reply